Our Community

We love to connect the food people we love with other food lovers.

https://www.eatnewzealand.nz/ is a new site promoting New Zealand food to locals and tourists. 

Here are some of our favourite people promoting local producers:
http://potatoesnz.co.nz/
http://www.vegetables.co.nz/
https://beeflambnz.com/
https://www.pork.co.nz/
https://www.seafood.co.nz/
http://www.nzvenison.com/
http://whitebait.co.nz/
http://www.yellowbkroad.com/
https://nzsca.org.nz/  (specialty cheese)
http://www.salmon.org.nz/
https://www.kono.co.nz/
http://www.onionsnz.com/
https://www.olivesnz.org.nz/
https://www.nzavocado.co.nz
http://pipfruitnzstories.co.nz/
http://www.summerfruitnz.co.nz/
http://nzcra.org.nz/  (specialty coffee)

And some organisations we support (tell us if we've missed your favourite, we'll add them to the list):

Foodwriters New Zealand https://www.foodwriters.org.nz

Garden to Table  http://www.gardentotable.org.nz

Kiwiharvest http://kiwiharvest.org.nz

Kaibosh https://www.kaibosh.org.nz

Sustainable Business network https://sustainable.org.nz

Farmers' markets  http://www.farmersmarkets.org.nz

Everybody Eats  https://www.facebook.com/everybodyeatsnz/

Love Food Hate Waste  https://lovefoodhatewaste.co.nz/

At the leading edge of food science (and worldwide food security):
http://www.cawthron.org.nz/ 
https://www.plantandfood.co.nz/
http://foodinnovationnetwork.co.nz/
http://www.mbie.govt.nz/info-services/sectors-industries/food-beverage
https://www.foodhq.com/
http://www.callaghaninnovation.govt.nz/
http://www.foodinc.co.nz/
https://sustainable.org.nz/good-food-boost/
https://www.thekitchenproject.co.nz/
 

Eat the winners  

We love a good food competition – The leading national food awards are

Cuisine Artisan Awards http://foodawardsv.massey.ac.nz

Outstanding Producers Awards https://outstandingfoodproducer.nz

The NZ Artisan Awards http://supermarketnews.co.nz/enter-the-nz-artisan-awards-2018/

And the more specialised the food, the better. Over the years, we’d have to plump for the sausage and pie awards as our all-time favourites (we keep a list of winners when we travel for a handy snack or shopping stops on our road trips). But wait, there are plenty more – chips, ice creams, bakeries and home cookeries, butchers. Again, let us know if we've missed your favourite, and we'll add 'em. 

https://www.olivesnz.org.nz/awards/
https://nzsca.org.nz/cheese-awards/
https://www.rmnz.co.nz/
http://pieawards.nz/pie_awards.cfm
http://www.thechipgroup.co.nz/regional-finalists-found-best-chip-shop-competition/
http://www.nzicecream.org.nz/awards.htm
http://www.farmersmill.co.nz/gnzbbo/
https://www.rmnz.co.nz/news/category/Alto-Butcher-of-the-Year

Food media

When we aren’t foraging, cooking or eating, we all love to read or hear about food. We won’t list the entire internet of food, but here are some local magazines, web sites and blogs. We love to support local whenever we can, and they deserve yours too.

Cuisine https://www.cuisine.co.nz/ 

Dish https://www.dish.co.nz/
Taste Magazine -  Food To Love http://www.foodtolove.co.nz
Mindfood https://www.mindfood.com
Bite http://www.bite.co.nz/
Healthy Food Guide https://www.healthyfood.co.nz/ 

Fearless Kitchen  - Vanessa Baxter www.fearlesskitchen.co.nz

Fresh Fast https://fresh.co.nz

Anne Thorp and her Kai Ora TV Show on Maori TV  www.annethorp.co.nz

Stone Soup Syndicate https://stonesoupsyndicate.com
Junction Magazine, Rodney https://www.junctionmag.co.nz
Nourish Magazine – Waikato and Bay of Plenty http://nourishmagazine.co.nz
Uno Magazine – Bay of Plenty https://www.unomagazine.co.nz
Live Magazine Taranaki https://livemagazine.co.nz
Wild Tomato https://wildtomato.co.nz
NZ Life and Leisure and Lifestyle Block http://thisnzlife.co.nz
The Life – Southland Culture and Lifestyle https://thelife.co.nz
Latitude – Canterbury’s lifestyle magazine https://www.latitudemagazine.co.nz

The Food Path http://thefoodpathnz.com

 

Food Shows and Events

The Food Show  http://Foodshow.co.nz
Visa Wellington on a Plate https://www.visawoap.com
Taste of Auckland http://tasteofauckland.co.nz
The Great New Zealand Food Show, Hamilton http://greatnzfoodshow.co.nz
Better Food Fair http://www.betterfoodfair.co.nz
The Seriously Good Food Show, Tauranga https://www.seriouslygoodfoodshow.co.

FAWC! Hawkes Bay http://www.fawc.co.nz/


Websites and bloggers 

Al Brown https://albrown.co.nz

Annabel Langbein https://www.annabel-langbein.com/

Bunny Eats Design https://bunnyeatsdesign.com/

Capital Eats Wellington https://capitaleatsnz.wordpress.com/

Emma Galloway My Darling lemon Thyme   http://www.mydarlinglemonthyme.com/

Food To Love http://www.foodtolove.co.nz/

Georgie Eats https://georgieats.com/

Lauraine Jacobs http://www.laurainejacobs.co.nz

Nadia Lim https://nadialim.com

Nicola Galloway http://www.homegrown-kitchen.co.nz/

Peter Gordon http://www.peter-gordon.net/about/

Shared Kitchen - Julie Biuso http://sharedkitchen.co.nz

Sarah Tuck https://stuckinthekitchen.com/

The Forest Cantina https://www.theforestcantina.com/

Wellingnoms https://www.facebook.com/wellingnoms/

And around the world 

Top UK Foods Sites to check out  https://www.independent.co.uk/extras/indybest/food-drink/the-50-best-food-websites-8665600.html

Top UK food Blogs  https://blog.feedspot.com/uk_food_blogs/

Top Foodies to Follow in UK    https://theculturetrip.com/europe/united-kingdom/england/articles/top-10-british-food-blogs-you-should-follow/

Foodies 100  https://www.foodies100.co.uk

Food52 https://food52.com/

Lexicon of Food https://lexiconoffood.com
E Gullet   https://forums.egullet.org
Saveur  https://www.saveur.com

Gourmet Traveller https://www.gourmettraveller.com.au/
Serious Eats https://www.seriouseats.com
Eater https://www.eater.com

Facebook Groups

Lazy Susan https://www.facebook.com/groups/LazySusan/

Pearls Of food Wisdom https://www.facebook.com/groups/1004381356375755/

Foodwriters Members  https://www.facebook.com/groups/fwnzmembers/